• Home
  • sitemap
  • Feedback


As a result of the establishment of the Department of Agriculture at the national level and at the provinces, the realization that research and education are the very foundations for the development of agriculture dawned on the minds of the administrators, educationists, social reformers and thinkers. Mahatma Jyotiba Phule, the noted thinker, social reformer and agriculturist of Pune appealed to the British Government to set institutions for agricultural education and research in India. This led to the opening of a branch for teaching agriculture in the College of Science at Pune in 1879 that was subsequently developed into a separate College of Agriculture in 1907. Initially three year diploma of the Bombay University was offered. In 1899 a degree course leading to Licentiate in Agriculture (L.Ag.) was started. The Bombay University in the year 1909 further extended the scope of these studies, raised the standards and instituted the degree of Bachelor of Agriculture (B.Ag.). Its nomenclature was changed to Bachelor of Science in Agriculture [B.Sc.(Agri.)] and the first batch of graduates with this degree passed out in 1937.

The College of Agriculture, Pune is one of the first five agriculture colleges established in India. From its very inception, there has been a close co-ordination between research and teaching. After establishment of Maharashtra Agricultural University in the year 1968, the College of Agriculture, Pune was transferred to the University as a constituent college. In 1969, the College was transferred to the Mahatma Phule Krishi Vidyapeeth (Agricultural University), Rahuri established in that year. The B.Sc.(Hort.) degree programme was started in the year 1984. The University headquarters are located in Rahuri, Dist. Ahmednagar 160 km to the north of Pune.

Historical Perspectives at Glance


 Bombay University started Licentiate in Agriculture (L.Ag.) Degree Course.


 A fine site of 150 acres of farm land selected close to the College of Science


 College was housed temporarily in the building at Kirkee


Starting of separate  College of Agriculture on January 01 1908 and Degree course of Bachelor of
Agriculture (B.Ag.)


 Degree course of Bachelor of Agriculture (B.Ag.) recognized by Bombay University.
The construction of laboratory block completed where the Chemistry Section is now housed.


 Construction work of main imposing building of the college was completed.


 Post Graduate Degree course of Master of Agriculture (M.Ag.) was started.


 The nomenclature of B.Ag. Degree was changed to Bachelor of Science in Agriculture B.Sc.(Agri.) degree.


 First Batch of B.Sc. (Agri.) degree programme was passed out from the College of Agriculture Pune.


 The college of Agriculture affiliated to the Poona University.


 Four year degree programme after Matriculation was started.


 Four year degree course in Agriculture was started after Pre- degree University  Examination of
Pune University.


 The college was affiliated to the Maharashtra Agricultural University.


 The college was constituent college of the Mahatma Phule Krishi Vidyapeeth


 Trimester System of education was started.


 Semester system of education was started.


 First batch of semester system obtained B.Sc. (Agri.) degree.


 The RAWE programme was started in the VII semester of degree course.


 Commencement of Postgraduate Degree Programme


 Establishment of Hi-Tech Vegetable & Floriculture Project


 Introduction of new syllabus & inclusion of Hands-on-Training and Experiential 
Learning programme in the final year of degree course.


 Commencement of MBA in Agriculture


 Establishment of Biotechnology and Bio-control Laboratories



Designed & maintained by Shivrai Technologies Pvt. Ltd.